SportsSJFI to honor Sunil Gavaskar with medal, decision taken in AGM

SJFI to honor Sunil Gavaskar with medal, decision taken in AGM

The Sports Journalists Federation of India (SJFI) on Tuesday decided to confer the coveted ‘SJFI Medal’ on legendary cricketer Sunil Gavaskar. The SJFI took this decision at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Guwahati.

According to the press release, javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, who won the only gold medal for India at the Tokyo Olympics 2022, was adjudged the SJFI’s Men’s Player of the Year while weightlifter Mirabai, who won a silver medal in Tokyo Chanu (Meerabai Chanu) was adjudged the best female player of the year.

The matter of ‘Veeru’ is different… all are his fans, Sachin shared a picture with Dharmendra and had some fun with Sehwag
Weightlifter Mirabai had put a medal in India’s bag on the very first day of the Tokyo Games. Neeraj Chopra won India’s first medal in track and field in Olympic history. Neeraj is the second athlete from India to win an individual Olympic gold. Prior to Neeraj, shooter Abhinav Bindra had created history by winning a gold medal in the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Equals Kohli’s Record: Ruturaj made a place in Kohli’s special club, became the fourth Indian to do so
Paralympics stellar javelin throwers Sumit Antil and Pramod Bhagat will share the award for the best para player of the year in the men’s category while shooter Avani Lekhara was adjudged the best female para player of the year.
Vijay Hazare Trophy: Maharashtra misses out on knockout spot despite Gaikwad’s fourth century
At the AGM, Kerala’s A Vinod was elected as the new president of SJFI, while Mumbai’s Prashant Keni will be the new secretary and Assam’s Vidyut Kalita as the treasurer.