SportsCricketRahane captain, five key players including Kohli; The Test team against...

Rahane captain, five key players including Kohli; The Test team against New Zealand has been announced


  • Virat Kohli will not play in the first Test
  • Rest for Rohit and Bumra
  • Ajinkya Rahane captains India in first Test

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in the first match of the Test series against New Zealand. Virat Kohli will join the team in the second Test. India have rested key players for the two-match series. There are no five key players in the first Test, including Virat Kohli. Kohli will return for the second Test but will be rested by Rohit Sharma, Jaspreet Bumra, Mohammad Shami and Rishabh Pant.

The Test matches will be played in Kanpur from November 25 to 29 and in Mumbai from December 3 to 7. Cheteshwar Pujara has been announced as the vice-captain of the team. Along with Wriddhiman Saha, KS Bharath also joined the team as a wicket-keeper. This is India’s first Test series since Rahul Dravid took over as coach. Shreyas Iyer has returned to the Test team. Off-spinner Jayant Yadav is another surprise player in the team.

Did Hardik dismiss Pandya or allow him to rest? 5 openers for 3 matches

Team from:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Shubhman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, R Ashwin, J Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Pakistan ends semis jump