IndiaNobel Peace Prize goes to journalists

Nobel Peace Prize goes to journalists


  • Nobel Peace Prize 2021
  • The award was won by a journalist.
  • Maria Reza and Dmitry Muradov won the award.

Stockholm: Two journalists have been awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. Maria Reza, 58, of the Philippines, and Dmitry Muradov, 59, of Russia, won the award. Both were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts to protect freedom of expression, a cornerstone of democracy.

Literary Nobel Prize for Tanzanian Novelist
The award committee noted that Dimitri and Raza are representatives of all journalists fighting in a world where democracy and media freedom are threatened. Both were selected from 329 people.

Dmitry Muradov is the editor-in-chief of the Russian daily Novaya Gazeta. The Novaya Gazette is a newspaper that regularly criticizes the Russian government and reports corruption. The newspaper has attracted world attention as it has consistently raised its voice against human rights violations in the country. Dmitry has been the Editor-in-Chief of the Novaya Gazette for the past 24 years.

Resa is the CEO of Rappler, an online media outlet in the Philippines. Rasa intervened against dictatorship and state terrorism in the Philippines. It was these actions that earned them the award. He previously worked for CNN, a news agency, and was sentenced to six years in prison for speaking out for freedom of expression.

Discovery of greening chemistry; Two shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry
He was convicted of exposing the relationship between a prominent judge of the country and a prominent businessman. Reza has authored several books during the crisis. The winners will receive a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor along with a certificate of merit. This comes to about Rs 9 crore.

BJP says Modi made Gandhi’s dreams come true