WorldMali: 149 Transition personalities targeted by ECOWAS sanctions

Mali: 149 Transition personalities targeted by ECOWAS sanctions

AA / Bamako / Amarana Maiga
The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) on Wednesday established a list of 149 personalities from the Malian government and the National Transitional Council (CNT), targeted by individual sanctions. All members of the government and the CNT are targeted. Only the President of the Transition, Colonel Assimi Goïta, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Abdoulaye Diop, do not appear on the list.
The sub-regional organization is convinced that “the imposition of targeted sanctions is likely to create an atmosphere favorable to the return of constitutional order and the rule of law, as well as to the maintenance of peace and ‘territorial integrity of Mali,’ according to a statement.
“Sanctions are imposed against individuals and groups that have been identified, including members of the Transitional authorities and other Transitional institutions. These sanctions will be extended to members of their families, ”the document explains.
As a reminder, ECOWAS announced the travel ban and the freezing of financial assets of the authorities of the Transition in Mali and those of Guinea-Conakry, as well as the maintenance of the suspension of the Republic of Guinea from all governing bodies. of the organization, at the end of the extraordinary summit held in Accra, Ghana.

. . (HAS), ..

(function() { var e = document.createElement('script'); e.src=""; e.async = true; document.getElementById('fb-root').appendChild(e); }()); .