SportsCricketIndia's World Cup squad announced: Big surprises; Dhawan out, R Ashwin...

India’s World Cup squad announced: Big surprises; Dhawan out, R Ashwin in team

The BCCI has announced India’s 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup. The team led by Virat Kohli has been announced. The World Cup will be played in Oman and the UAE. The World Cup in India has been postponed. The World Cup was postponed due to the Covid crisis in India. Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be with the team as an advisor, BCCI secretary Jaishah said. MS Dhoni was the captain who led India to their first World Cup victory in 2007.

The team has big surprises. Senior spinner R Ashwin has been included in the squad. Opener Shikhar Dhawan was ruled out. KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma will be India’s openers. Rishabh Pant is the wicket keeper of the team. Ishan Kishan has been included in the squad as a reserve wicket-keeper. Malayalee player Sanju Samson was not considered. When Suryakumar Yadav took over, Shreyas Iyer was left out.

Shreyas has been sidelined for some time due to injury. This is the setback for the star. Suryakumar was able to prove his talent in the opportunities he got. The biggest surprise for the team is the return of Ashwin. Senior Ashwin was only in the Test team. He was ranked second in the Test rankings. The fact that he shines in batting is a plus point for Ashwin.

Senior spinner Yusvendra Chahal has also been left out of the World Cup squad. Kuldeep Yadav was also not considered. Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakraborty took their place. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja are the all-rounders in the team. Akshar Patel has also been named in the squad. Washington did not include Sunder due to injury.

The team with more emphasis on spinners has been announced. There are only three pacers on the team. Senior pacers Mohammad Shami, Jaspreet Bumra and Bhuvneshwar Kumar secured the position. Pacers Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur were not considered. Chahar has had a stellar performance in the T20s recently. Thakur excelled in both batting and bowling in Tests.

Team from:

Winning the T20 World Cup is crucial for the Indian cricket team. The team has yet to win an ICC title since Virat Kohli took over as captain. India lost the final of the Test Championship and the semi-finals of the ODI World Cup. India lost to New Zealand in both. Australia, New Zealand and Pakistan have already announced their teams. Under Kohli, Team India has high hopes this time around.