SportsICC Awards: Joe Root became Test Cricketer of the Year, surpassing R...

ICC Awards: Joe Root became Test Cricketer of the Year, surpassing R Ashwin, Babar Azam won in ODIs


  • Babar Azam was named the best ODI cricketer of the year 2021
  • ICC named captain Joe Root as the best Test cricketer
  • Lijle Lee named best ODI cricketer among women

Dubai: Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam was adjudged the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year while England’s Test captain Joe Root became the best Test player. Root surpassed Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin to receive the award. Azam scored 67 in six matches in 2021. Scored 405 runs at an average of 50.

Azam scored 228 runs in the 2-1 win against South Africa and was adjudged player of the match in both the matches. He scored a century in the first ODI and scored 94 runs in 82 balls in the last ODI.

Babar scored a lot of runs last year
He single-handedly batted for Pakistan in the 0-3 loss against England. He scored 177 runs in three matches but could not get support from the other end.

In the last ODI, he shared a 92-run partnership with Imamul Haque. He completed the first 50 runs in 72 balls and the next 50 runs in 32 balls, which was his second century this year.

Root scored more than 1700 test runs last year
Root performed well last year to become the third player in the world to score more than 1700 Test runs in a calendar year. Before him, Mohammad Yusuf and Sir Vivian Richards have done this feat.

Against any other bowling attack, be it in Asia or his home country, Root has batted splendidly. His innings in the Galle Test against Sri Lanka or against India at Chennai or Lord’s, is one of the finest innings of all modern times.

He also took 14 wickets while bowling. In the Chennai Test against India, he scored 2018 runs and faced the Indian spinners in his friendly conditions.

Lizelle Lee named best ODI cricketer

Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson and Dimuth Karunaratne were also nominated in this category. South African opener Lizelle Lee was adjudged the best ODI cricketer for the most runs in this format in 2021.

She was the leader in the 4-1 win against India and became the Player of the Series with 288 runs including a century. He maintained this form against the West Indies as well. South Africa’s Marais Erasmus was named Umpire of the Year for the third time. He has also won this award in 2016 and 2017. He was also the umpire in the recently concluded series between India and South Africa.