WorldFrance: the composition of the new government of Elisabeth Borne, unveiled

France: the composition of the new government of Elisabeth Borne, unveiled

AA / Paris / Ümit Dönmez

After five days of waiting, since the appointment of the new head of government, Elisabeth Borne, the names of the new ministers were announced this Friday, on the steps of the Élysée by Alexis Kohler, the secretary general of the Élysée.

The new government led by Elisabeth Borne is made up of 17 ministers, 6 deputy ministers and 4 state secretaries. Of the 27 names cited, 13 are women and 14 are men.

In this new government which aims to be equal, Bruno Le Maire retains his post as Minister of the Economy, Finance and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty.

Gérald Darmanin, reappointed to the Ministry of the Interior.

Éric Dupond-Moretti returns as Keeper of the Seals and Minister of Justice in the government formed by Prime Minister Elisabeth Borne on Friday May 20.

Catherine Colonna, appointed to the Quai d’Orsay as Minister of Foreign and European Affairs.

Olivier Dussopt becomes the new Minister of Labour.

Historian Pap Ndiaye, appointed Minister of National Education.

Rima Abdul-Malak is in charge of the Culture portfolio.

Agnès Pannier-Runacher, appointed Minister for Energy Transition.

Sébastien Lecornu, appointed Minister of the Armed Forces in the executive of Elisabeth Borne.

Brigitte Bourguignon is in charge of the Health and Prevention portfolio.

Amélie de Montchalin, appointed Minister of Ecological Transition and Territorial Cohesion.

Olivia Grégoire becomes the new government spokesperson.

The first Council of Ministers will be held on Monday 23 May.

Only part of the dispatches, which Anadolu Agency broadcasts to its subscribers via the Internal Broadcasting System (HAS), is broadcast on the AA website, in a summarized manner. .