IndiaCongress candidates were taken to places of worship and vowed not to...

Congress candidates were taken to places of worship and vowed not to disobey; The incident took place in Goa


  • Goa Assembly elections
  • The oath was taken by the candidates.
  • The pledge was made to make it clear that he would not leave the party.

Panaji: The Congress has vowed not to leave the party in the run-up to the Goa Assembly elections. The Congress leadership took the oath of office at a place of worship after a group of MLAs left the party after the election.

Did not like the mask provided; BJP leader, former minister throws away mask, video
Candidates were sworn in at the Mahalakshmi Temple, Holy Cross Shrine, Bambolim and Muhammad Hamza Shah Dargah in Betim. Thirty-six candidates have pledged to remain loyal to Congress. The Congress has come out with a response to the controversy over the swearing in of candidates. Goa Congress leader Dinesh Gundu Rao said the move was prompted by the widespread campaign in the state to field candidates, including those from the BJP, even if they win the elections.

Despite being the largest single party in Goa in the 2017 Assembly elections, the Congress failed to form a government in the state. As the BJP’s intervention intensified, a large number of Congress MLAs jumped on the bandwagon. Five years later, the Congress, which had 17 MLAs, has shrunk to just two. With this, the candidates took an oath that they would not leave Patti.

Dinesh Gundu Rao said the decision to take the oath was taken unanimously by the candidates. “They wanted to make it clear that they would not leave the party after the election. They were prepared to take a vow to declare that they would not fall and that they would not try to do so. With this, they told themselves to go to church and temple.

The tallest man in the country is now in SP; Dharmendra Pratap Singh joined the Samajwadi Party
All 36 candidates visited the Mahalakshmi Temple in Panaji, the Miracle Cross Church in Bambolim and the Hazrat Mohammad Hamza Shah Dargah in Batim, vowing to stay with the Congress for five years.
“We are believers in God and that is why we have taken the oath,” said Digambar Kamath, leader of the Congress Legislative Party. “We take things very seriously. We will not allow any party to hunt down its own MLAs. We have faith in the Almighty and that is why we have vowed not to back down after the election,” he said.

Covid for 1637 more people in Idukki